Home » News

Awards Nominations Request

21 October 2015 No Comment

The following note was sent to faculty of the School requesting nominations of alumni of outstanding achievement who might be considered for the Pupin, Egleston or Johnson Awards.  All alumni are encouraged to submit nominations to the appropriate committee chair. These awards are described  in the CEAA Awards tab and a link to the nominating package is given there. Nominations can be submitted at any time, and not only by the date quoted in the following note, but may be considered in a subsequent award cycle.


Dear SEAS Faculty Members,

Each year, the Columbia Engineering Alumni Association (CEAA) awards three prestigious medals to SEAS graduates. The Egleston, Johnson, and Pupin Medal honorees are each selected by committee and we are writing today to ask for your help in identifying candidates for the 2016 awards.

The Egleston Medal recognizes distinguished achievement in engineering or applied science. The Johnson Medal is awarded in recognition of distinguished achievement in fields other than engineering and applied science. The Pupin Medal is conferred in recognition of service to the nation in the fields of engineering, science, or technology, with lasting and broad significance to society as a whole.

Past recipients have included Nobel Prize winners and CEOs of Fortune 500 companies, among other accomplished luminaries. For more information on each committee’s selection criteria and a list of past winners, please refer to the CEAA website here.

We welcome all suggestions. Please respond to the Committee Chairs (contact information listed below) by October 16.


Mary Cunningham Boyce
Dean of Engineering
Morris A. and Alma Schapiro Professor

Rene B. Testa
Professor Emeritus of Civil Engineering & Engineering Mechanics
President, CEAA

Egleston Medal Committee Chair Andrew Gaspar
Johnson Medal Committee Chair K. Daniel Libby               
Pupin Medal Committee ChairVijay Samant

Comments are closed.