Home » CEAA Committees

CEAA Committees

CEAA operates several standing committees to organize and execute the activities of the Alumni Association.  Please see the committee descriptions below.  To get involved with a committee, please email Jack Reilly, Assistant Director of Alumni Relations, at jr2813@columbia.edu.

Communications Committee

Chair: Bonnie Silvera ’97

The principal mission of the Communications Committee is to publicize the existence, aims and activities of CEAA and to keep alumni informed and connected. This objective is framed in three task areas which form the basis of three work groups:

  • The Technology Work Group will seek to develop and maintain avenues of communication with alumni including the presence of CEAA on the web and various social networks, electronic newsletters and publications of SEAS.
  • The Branding Work Group will focus on means of increasing awareness of CEAA and its activities through exposure of its logo and name in flyers, banners and gift items.
  • The Public Relations Work Group is tasked with soliciting and providing input to the available channels of communication.

Alumni Relations Committee

Chair: Alex Ned BS’87, MS’90

The Alumni Relations Committee shall be responsible for facilitating alumni involvement in CEAA, general alumni events, as well as planning events not otherwise the responsibility of another committee or the Dean’s Office.

Faculty Relations Committee

Chair: Vijay Samant MS’77

The Faculty Relations Committee, consisting of not fewer than three members and chaired by the Vice President of Faculty Relations, shall develop activities to strengthen the bonds between faculties of the Engineering School and its alumni.

Student Relations Committee

Chair: Jack Yuen BS’03

The Student Relations Committee shall develop activities to strengthen the bonds between current students, the CEAA, and Alumni. The committee shall be chaired by the Vice President Student Relations and consist of not fewer than five members. The committee will coordinate directly with the Dean’s office and the undergraduate and graduate school’s student councils.