Home » Johnson Medal

Johnson Medal

The Samuel Johnson Medal for Distinguished Achievement in a Field Other Than Engineering


Award Description

The Medal is in honor of Samuel Johnson, who served as the first president of King’s College, the predecessor of Columbia University, from 1754 to 1762. Samuel Johnson’s vision for King’s College was for it to provide an exceptional, well-rounded education that included both the liberal arts as well as the applied sciences as understood in his time. The Medal was first awarded in 2007.

The Medal is in recognition of distinguished achievement in fields other than engineering and applied science. Examples of these fields may include education, law, public affairs, business, social sciences, architecture, and the arts. The recipient must have significantly advanced his or her chosen field of endeavor or demonstrated exceptional leadership.

This Medal is awarded periodically by the Board of Managers of the Columbia Engineering Alumni Association (CEAA) with the concurrence of the Dean of the Fu Foundation School of Engineering and Applied Science. The recipient must be a graduate of the School of Engineering and Applied Science.

“The Circle of Knowledge,” Applied Sciences at King’s College and the Founding of the Samuel Johnson Medal

Click here to read about the role of Samuel Johnson in the history of applied sciences at King’s College and the founding of the Samuel Johnson Medal.

Past Recipients

Year Name Description
2016 Izzo, Ralph CEO of PSEG. Mr. Izzo is a well-known leader within the utility industry, as well as the public policy arena. He is frequently asked to testify before Congress and speak to organizations on matters pertaining to national energy policy.
2015 Geller, Ehud Founder and director of biotech and healthcare companies.
2014 BURNS, Ursula Chairman and CEO of Xerox; for her work transforming one of the nation’s most iconic brands into a global leader in business process; for her commitment and work to improve science, technology, engineering, and mathematics education for future generations.
2012 CHUNG, Jae-Un Former vice chair of Samsung and honorary chairman of the Chosun Hotel Co. and of the Shinsegae Group; for pioneering new management style of “open management”.
2011 PANDIT, Vikram S. For his leadership of one of the most systemically important global financial institutions at a time of unprecedented transitions and challenges.
2007 MILLSTEIN, Ira M. For his leadership role in framing issues of corporate governance and in fashioning workable solutions to complex issues of corporate board responsibility and ethics and for acknowledged legal expertise in the fields of corporate governance, antitrust and government regulation and for pro bono commitment to the broader civic community as a key adviser to, among others, the Lower Manhattan Development Corp., the World Trade Center Memorial Foundation, the Metropolitan Transportation Authority, the Central Park Conservancy, and as Chairman of the New York State Commission on Public Authority Reform.